News:

Welcome to the SoA Forum.  You are welcome to browse through and contribute to the Forums listed below.

Main Menu

Late Bronze Age Resource Material

Started by Motylos, March 08, 2014, 08:56:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Motylos

When I first started to get interested in the Hittites and their contemporaries there was very little readily available in English: the Penguin book The Hittites by Oliver Gurney and the later Thames & Hudson volume The Hittites and their Contemporaries by James Macqueen were the best and most accessible publications.  I used Inter-Library Loan to get academic articles (a slow and costly process) until I studied Hittite at SOAS for two terms, when I had access to its wonderful library.  However, with the web and a plethora of books in English, perhaps it is now difficult to know where to start and what to access, and, web-wise, what to trust.  So if people are interested, I thought I would share what is available, what (at least initially) my recommendations would be to get started.  But also to generate a sharing of resources from other people's experiences.

My main thought was to provide details and short comments on the more readily available primary sources that have become available in English, specifically regarding military matters, but also looking at language and culture, which help to provide points of reference and understanding if developing a historical overview, a battle or campaign scenario or a set of wargaming rules.

If people are interested I am going to look at some recently published volumes in further postings: Jared L. Miller (2013), Royal Hittite Instructions and Related Administrative Texts.  Atlanta: Society of Biblical Literature.  ISBN 978-1-58983-656-3
André J. Veldmeijer & Salima Ikram, eds. (2014), Chasing Chariots: Proceedings of the First International Chariots Conference (Cairo 2012).  Leiden: Sidestone Press.  ISBN 978-90-8890-209-3