News:

Welcome to the SoA Forum.  You are welcome to browse through and contribute to the Forums listed below.

Main Menu

Silver coins declared treasure

Started by Imperial Dave, March 31, 2024, 09:58:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Imperial Dave

Slingshot Editor

Ian61

Interesting. As a chemist I cringed a bit at the phrase 'pure silver pennies' not deliberately adulterated possibly! However, I well remember pennies worn almost smooth as a lad it is something you don't tend to get nowadays but very few coins in circulation are over twenty years old.
Ian Piper
Norton Fitzwarren, Somerset

Erpingham

Quote from: Ian61 on March 31, 2024, 12:25:55 PMAs a chemist I cringed a bit at the phrase 'pure silver pennies' not deliberately adulterated possibly!

I suspect this is what was intended. Debasing coinage was a real problem in medieval times (though more later the the coins in this hoard).

Ian61

Quote from: Erpingham on March 31, 2024, 12:32:21 PM
Quote from: Ian61 on March 31, 2024, 12:25:55 PMAs a chemist I cringed a bit at the phrase 'pure silver pennies' not deliberately adulterated possibly!

I suspect this is what was intended. Debasing coinage was a real problem in medieval times (though more later the the coins in this hoard).

Indeed, you know your medieval history better than I do. I was aware that Nero started a run of debasements of Roman silver.
Ian Piper
Norton Fitzwarren, Somerset

Erpingham

DEbasement was less of an issue in England until Henry VIII.  It was a big issue elsewhere, especially France.  In the period of these coins, the big value problem was clipping - cutting off the edges of coins to harvest the silver, then putting the coin back in circulation at face value. Short cross pennies like those in the hoard were vulnerable to this so the recoinage of 1247 mentioned in the report introduced the long cross penny to make it more difficult.

Jim Webster