News:

Welcome to the SoA Forum.  You are welcome to browse through and contribute to the Forums listed below.

Main Menu

14th C plague pit uncovered in Lincolnshire

Started by Imperial Dave, November 30, 2016, 06:32:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Imperial Dave

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-humber-38146468

surprised to learn the mortality rates have been adjusted upwards since I studied it in school being now stated as being up to 60%. Not surprisingly it prevented any major military efforts until 1355 according to Wikipedia. 
Slingshot Editor

Patrick Waterson

The Wikipedia entry may need a bit of refining, as the main reason for lack of significant campaigning seems to have been not the Black Death (although this was not a negligible influence) but the Truce of 1347.  This led to King Edward largely staying at home and confined the fighting to peripheral regions.  In 1349 the French lost a battle at Lunalongue in Poitou and were spectacularly defeated at Calais by King Edward himself (he nipped over to take full advantage of a double-cross when the French tried to bribe the governor).  The following year saw the Battle of Winchelsea, in which King Edward defeated a Castilian fleet; 1351 saw the Battle of Saintes (in Brittany), another French defeat, and a rare French success at Ardres outside Calais following Henry of Lancaster's almost successful attempt to seize Boulogne (he took everything but the citadel and then found his scaling ladders were too short for the latter).  The French had waited until Henry departed on crusade and then engaged and defeated Beauchamp.  In 1352 the English seized Guines (near Calais) and in Brittany Bentley foiled the French siege of recently-recaptured Fougeres.  The year was rounded off with a smashing English victory at Mauron (Brittany again).