News:

Welcome to the SoA Forum.  You are welcome to browse through and contribute to the Forums listed below.

Main Menu

Leuctra and the Thebans

Started by Keith, January 28, 2018, 06:32:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Keith

This will be my first post on this forum, as a recently joined member. I am also fairly new to wargaming the ancient period. I hope a wargaming question in the historical section is not inappropriate.

I have been fortunate enough to meet and game with Roy Boss, and we discussed the issue of the 50 deep Theban phalanx. I have had a look at some forum discussions on the subject of how depth could make a phalanx more effective (in particular 'Depth: What Is It Good For?'). What I have heard recently seems to indicate that any kind of shoving would be ineffective beyond about 8 ranks - so why 50?

Roy's explanation was one I had not heard before, being based on exploitation. The value of the succeeding ranks would be to exploit the success of the leading ones by a sort of blitzkrieg-style expanding torrent, attacking the flanks of a hole in the defending line created by the leading hoplites.

Roy's idea gives a logical reason for the use of super-deep phalanxes whether you believe in 'othismos' or not. In a wargame context, a 50 deep phalanx could be represented by 'stacking' maybe 3 or 4 separate 'normal' phalanx units, so that success by the front unit could immediately be exploited. Could this also be true historically - that there was not a single 50 deep phalanx but maybe 6 x 8 deep phalanxes one behind the other?

In what other ways would members see a 50 deep phalanx being more effective than one of a more usual depth?