News:

Welcome to the SoA Forum.  You are welcome to browse through and contribute to the Forums listed below.

Main Menu

Hellenistic Spartan army

Started by Darthvegeta800, April 15, 2019, 12:26:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Darthvegeta800

Waiting for the arrival of my 15mm Dark Ages Kickstarter this summer I'm a bit 'in between' projects atm.
I have a backlog of 40K Arbites and my Space Hulk set i'm painting up but I feel the itch to do a little ancients sideproject.

Since the move I'm not fully deployed 'hobby material'-wise but I did dig up my huge box of 1/72 ancients I collected the last 2 years.
I finished already my multiple 1/72 Hoplite forces. (Sparta, Thebes, Athens) DBX based. Despite me being a bit iffy about DBA. But it's a good basing convention.

In the box there's a ton of Punic War stuff for the future but... I found some Macedonians/Successor kits.
I had been daydreaming for many months now about doing an atypical Spartan list.
Late Hellenistic Sparta. (so the reformed Sparta trying and failing a final revival)
This army was seemingly Pike heavy.
But I find little info on it. I plan to make a dozen or so DBX bases for 'fun'. To use in simpler wargames. (Neil Thomas One Hour Wargames perhaps?)

Are there any books that delve deep into the army organisation? I ordered "In the Name of Lykourgos: The Rise and Fall of the Spartan Revolutionary Movement" but I suspect it'll mostly be fascinating history.
And are there any sources for visual aids? (potential uniforms/colors etc)

When it comes to Sparta and Classical Greece I have plenty in my collection.
But about this era I have very little, almost nothing.

From what little info I dug up: (mostly from army lists in rulebooks)
1) A lot of Pike Phalanx (same uniform as the other Hellenistic states?)
2) Some light cav.
3) A little bit of Heavy Cav.
4) some skirmishers.

But above all... tons of Pike.
Is this correct?

Any pointers would be a lot of help!

Duncan Head