News:

Welcome to the SoA Forum.  You are welcome to browse through and contribute to the Forums listed below.

Main Menu

Roman Segmentata armour found in Kalkriese

Started by Imperial Dave, September 25, 2020, 11:20:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Imperial Dave

https://www.ndr.de/nachrichten/niedersachsen/Roemischer-Schienenpanzer-in-Kalkriese-gefunden,kalkriese448.html

not much description but the reconstruction illustration of the armour shows differences to the more usual Corbridge style.
Slingshot Editor

Duncan Head

That looks ... odd. What is that plate on the shoulders with that curved outer edge? I haven't seen anything like that in previous renderings of the Kalkriese segmentata type - for example in https://www.larp.com/legioxx/kalklor.html or the relevent chapter in Bishop's book.
Duncan Head

Imperial Dave

it almost looks.....incomplete but I am not an expert!
Slingshot Editor

Erpingham

Quote from: Holly on September 25, 2020, 12:39:12 PM
it almost looks.....incomplete but I am not an expert!

A quick glance suggests it has less armour on the upper arm than most types, including reconstructions of Kalkriese-type armour from earlier finds.

Imperial Dave

so true reflection of different types around or a misconstrued reconstruction....?
Slingshot Editor

Nick Harbud

The Travis' book deals with Kalkriese, Newstead and Corbridge segmented armours.  Certainly their reconstruction of the former bears little resemblance to the picture referenced in this thread. 

Having said that, one of their key points is that there were many variations in kit depending upon geographic location and what the armourer might have in his box of parts.
Nick Harbud

Imperial Dave

the reconstruction depicted, if correct, could allow more freedom of movement
Slingshot Editor

Erpingham

Imperial Dave

much obliged for that. A bit more meat on the bones of the story
Slingshot Editor

DBS