News:

Welcome to the SoA Forum.  You are welcome to browse through and contribute to the Forums listed below.

Main Menu

Implied evidence for infantry in Tibetan Empire armies

Started by Tim, October 19, 2018, 07:55:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tim

I have really enjoy the Tibetan Empire articles (Slingshot 319 and 320) written by Nicholas Spratt.

However I have one concern over the implied evidence for infantry in the army.  The author infers (Slingshot 320, page 8) that because Tibetan records refer to 'commander of horse, or commander of camels' it would 'imply that the title was required to differentiate the unit from one of only infantry and therefore, the Tibetan army was not entirely mounted'.  I am by no means an expert on the mainland Far-East but I am not convinced from a pure logic point of view that this seems to infer infantry in the Tibetan army.  It could just as easily be that the records require to differentiate between various types of mounted forces for pay, logistical or armaments reasons.  I am not saying I disagree that there could be infantry in the army but I don't believe that it is sufficient to infer so from this evidence.

Now I am more than happy to be shown to be making an incorrect use of linguistic logic by someone more familiar with oriental languages than I am but I remain to be convinced on that evidence.

Please note that this relatively minor point should in no way be taken as a criticism of the articles as I am really impressed by them and have learnt a lot from them.

Andreas Johansson

I agree that if there's "commanders of horse" and "commanders of camels", that in itself gives no license to assume the existence of infantry: the "of horse/camels" are needed to distinguish from commanders of the other sort of animal.